December 2020

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 4 of 71

by TANNER MORTON RAIC Communications Co-ordinator D E C E M B E R 2 0 2 0 | 5 P E R S P EC T I V E T he Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) celebrated excellence in architecture that has been hon- oured over the past year during its recent RAIC Virtual Awards Ceremony Week. The week of celebration was in partnership with the Canada Council for the Arts, the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA), and the Canadian Institute of Planners. From December 8 to December 10, virtual award ceremonies were held for the full portfolio of honours and awards from the RAIC for 2020. Throughout the three evenings, people heard from the teams behind the awarded projects, and celebrated excellence in Canadian architec- ture. Each ceremony was broadcast live over both Facebook and Twitter for virtual viewing and is now available at The schedule included the following: GOVERNOR GENERAL'S MEDALS IN ARCHITECTURE AND GOVERNOR GENERAL'S MEDAL IN LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE The Governor General's Medals in Architecture recognize outstand- ing achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects. This program – created by the RAIC – contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts. The Governor General's Medal in Landscape Architecture (GGMLA) is the highest honour bestowed on a landscape architect by the CSLA. The medal honours exceptional landscape architects, whose lifetime achievements and contributions to the profession have had a unique and lasting impact on Canadian society. The celebration was presented virtually by the RAIC, the Canada Council for the Arts, and CSLA. NATIONAL URBAN DESIGN AWARDS The National Urban Design Awards are a Canadian program estab- lished in 2006 by the RAIC in partnership with the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA). The program showcases excellence in urban design, raises public awareness of the role of urban design in sustainability and quality of life in Canadian cities, and recognizes the contributions of individuals, orga- nizations, firms, and projects. In 2020, there were seven award recipients and five certificates of merit, representing different categories of urban design projects. The awards are part of a two-tier program held in co-operation with Canadian municipalities. The celebration was presented virtually by the RAIC, CIP, and CSLA. A Virtual Celebration Of Excellence DECEMBER 2020 VOLUME 34 | NUMBER 4 PUBLISHER Dan Chapman 604.473.0316 EDITOR Natalie Bruckner ART DIRECTOR Scott Laurie CONTRIBUTING WRITERS Robin Brunet Laurie Jones Stacey McLachlan Laura Newton PRODUCTION MANAGER Elaina Kohlhauser SUBSCRIPTION INQUIRIES 604.299.2116 1.800.663.0518 CHAIRMAN, CEO Peter Legge, obc, lld. (hon) PRESIDENT Samantha Legge, mba VICE PRESIDENT OF HR & ADMIN Joy Ginete-Cockle VICE PRESIDENT OF FINANCE Sonia Roxburgh, cpa, cga EXECUTIVE CREATIVE DIRECTOR Rick Thibert DIRECTOR OF CIRCULATION Tracy McRitchie DIRECTOR OF SALES Anna Lee SENIOR PRODUCTION MANAGER Kristina Borys PRODUCTION SUPPORT TECHNICIAN Ina Bowerbank ACCOUNTING Eileen Gajowski Terri Mason CIRCULATION Katie Gajowski Kelly Kalirai OFFICE MANAGER/SALES COORDINATOR Lori North EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT TO THE CEO Charie Ginete-Ilon Award magazine is published four times a year by Canada Wide Media Limited. Head of fice: 230, 4321 Still Creek Drive, Burnaby, BC V5C 6S7. Phone 604.299.7311, Fax 604.299.9188. Send covers of undeliverable copies to address above. Publications Mail Agreement No. 40065475. © 2012. No part of this magazine may be reproduced without written permission of the publisher. Award is distributed to architects, interior designers, landscape architects, consulting engineers, specification writers, development companies and major construction companies throughout Western Canada and Ontario. For subscription information call 604.299.2116 or email: subscriptions@ National Library No. ISSN 1202-5925. Printed in Canada by Transcontinental LGM Graphics. Award magazine welcomes your letters, corporate announcements or company information. The statements, opinions and points of view expressed in articles published in this magazine are those of the authors and publication shall not be deemed to mean that they are necessarily those of the publisher, editor or Canada Wide Media Limited. The acceptance and publication of advertisement of products and services does not indicate endorsement of such products or services. The publishers cannot be held responsible for unsolicited manuscripts and photographs. 2020 ANNUAL AWARDS CELEBRATION This celebration event features the following award recipients: Architectural Firm Award This award recognizes an architectural firm or practice that has consis- tently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the firm for its quality of architecture, its service to its cli- ents, its innovations in practice, contributions to architectural education and to professional institutions and associations and public recognition. Emerging Architectural Practice Award This award recognizes an emerging architectural practice that has con- sistently produced distinguished architecture. The award recognizes the achievements of the practice for the quality of their built work, service to their clients, innovations in practice and public recognition. Emerging Architect Award This award recognizes an emerging architect for excellence in design, leadership or service to the profession. It is intended that this award will inspire other individuals to become licensed and to strive for excellence in their work. The award was previously called the Young Architect Award. The Prix du XXe Siècle Presented by the RAIC and the National Trust for Canada, this award recognizes buildings over 25 years old that have become landmarks of Canadian architecture. The prize celebrates design quality as well as enduring excellence, recognizing the design of the original architect or firm as well as the ongoing stewardship of the owner of the building. The National Trust for Canada is Canada's national charitable not-for-profit organization that works to save and renew Canada's historic places. RAIC Gold Medal The Gold Medal recognizes a significant body of work deemed to be a major contribution to Canadian architecture and having a lasting influence on the theory or practice of architecture, either through dem- onstrated excellence in design, research, or education. Past winners include Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte Roger du Toit, Brian MacKay-Lyons, Frank Gehry, Arthur Erickson, Dan Hanganu, Bing Thom, Phyllis Lambert, George Baird, and others. A

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Award - December 2020